Corn Pop Explosion

I honestly think that anybody who says they hate childrens’ cereals is nothing more than a lying liar who lies. Whether it’s Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Froot Loops or Corn Pops, there is some bowl of sugar out there that you can’t resist. I know it. Deep down inside, I know it. Because it’s a truth more universally acknowledged than anything Jane Austen ever wrote.

But as much as I love a bowl of Cinnamon Toast Crunch (ok, I love a box of Cinnamon Toast Crunch, because that stuff is like heroin), a local product has totally eclipsed everything the Superstore cereal aisle has to offer. I present to you Hennigar’s Corn Pops, my new drug of choice:

Hennigar's Corn Pops

I can not leave the town of Wolfville without a bag of these in my possession.

Light, crispy and with a honeyed taste that would make bees clutch their pearls and pass out from delight, these corn pops are, I declare, the best local junk food ever.

Hennigar's Corn Pops

SO GOOD.

If there is another Nova Scotia junk food that you think rivals this, I’d be interested in hearing about it. And then telling you that you’re wrong.

