Ginger snaps

Okay, so I don’t like to make anything uniform in style. Every cookie is like a beautiful  snowflake, I tell my child. Not one looks the same. Murdochs like the wobbly ones and cracked ones in this world, I tell him. We bake not for sale, we bake to grab and munch and roughly hold in our fists as we run through the house chasing the dog.

I found a phenomenal ginger snap recipe which I will now share with you.

1 cup sugar

1 cup butter

3/4 cup dark molasses (Even though I really don’t like Crosby’s creepy new ad campaign, I used Crosby’s).

1 egg

1 1/2 teaspoon vinegar

3 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons ginger

1/8 teaspoon white pepper

Cream butter and sugar. Add molasses. Beat in egg and vinegar. Sift all the dry ingredients, then blend the dry into the wet. Butter a cookie sheet and start putting teaspoonfuls onto the sheet. Cook at 300 degrees F for 7 to 10 minutes.

