Read Up On It – The Cheezie edition.

This week’s edition of Read Up On It is dedicated to that most wonderful of cheese snacks, the Cheezie.


Image via Wikipedia

It was recently announced that James E. Marker, the man who invented Cheezies, had passed away. I have a great love for those little snacks. I remember buying them as a kid at my elementary school concession stand. But for some unknown reason, at one point, my school stopped selling them. I had vague memories of them as an adult, always dissapointed by other “cheese” snack items. But a few years ago, I saw them at my neighbourhood grocery store. I bought a bag and dug in. They tasted as good as I remembered. For once, the nostalgia effect didn’t ruin the reality of the item. It was as good as I remembered. Sure, it tasted like junk food, but junk food I would want to eat. Once I open a bag, I can’t stop eating them. At Hallowe’en this year, my better half bought individual serving bags to give out to trick or treaters. Twenty-two of them. We had two trick-or-treaters come to the door, and each were given two bags. That left eighteen bags in the house. They didn’t last long.

  • – Slate posted a great piece this week about caramelised onions. The verdict: your recipe books are lying to you when they say “cook for 5-10 minutes until caramelised”. Try 45-50 minutes.
  • Ever wonder how scientists established those “basic nutrition guidelines” that you see on packaged foods? By starving prisoners, or so says Marion Nestle over at The Atlantic.
