Read Up On It – For May 25th, 2012

This weeks’ edition of Read Up On It is all over the map: literally. Italian cheeses, Montreal chefs, Vietnamese coffee and more.

  • I generally don’t post a lot of blogs here, but on occasion, one pops up that excites me. Jun Blog is a collection of essays, recipes and definitions about one of my favorite cuisines: filipino food. Calamansi sorbet anyone? I’ll pass on the bagoong.
  • Love Montréal’s Joe Beef? Eater recently published a great two part interview with its owners, Frederic Morin and David McMillan. These guys are an interviewers dream, with quotable bits and well thought-out answers. Read it. Now.
  • The Atlantic posted a neat story about how design in food packaging could keep us from overeating. Now, about that old thing called willpower…I think mine is hiding in the basement.
  • On the local tip, the Ecology Action Centre’s Food Project seems to be doing a lot of good. Open File has the story.
  • And last but not least, I love how this has gone somewhat viral. I’ve always loved the idea of Vietnamese coffee, now I feel I have to go and buy one of those little attachments/thingamajiggies to make it.
