Read Up On It – June 8th, 2012

This week’s edition of Read Up On It deals with salmon, salt and a little bit of hooch. Bon appetit!


Jeff Van Horne mixes up a drink or two on his blog

  • The CBC is reporting that you may be able to go fishing for salmon after all this summer. (Via CBC)
  • I remember reading about the use of smoke in thai desserts. I guess more and more chefs are interested in it, from maple to smoked cherries.(Via Wall Street Journal)

  • Do you remember the salt hysteria of the late 80s and early 90s? That heinous tasting stuff they made called “No Salt”? Yech. All over what looks like poor research about salt consumption. (Via NYT)
  • Every once in a while, I see an ad on Facebook for studies on Gout. What I thought was a bad joke (Am I that fat? Do I really talk that much about offals and seafood?) is becoming a real problem. Royal disease indeed. (Via The Atlantic)
  • Last but not least, check out Hamfist Media’s trailer for their series on Nova Scotia beef. The first episode is already up, so keep checking back for more.
