Fig Love

I have been dreaming and wishing and hoping to revist fig liqueur since I first took a tipple as a part of a simple dessert pairing with nougat, a ridiculously delicious combination so heavenly that I am convinced that Jesus himself send a host of angels to Valetta, Mdina, Marsaxlokk and every other little town in Malta with gilded scrolls that said “Hey guys, seriously: figs and nougat. Look into it.” (I’m pretty sure I probably nailed Jesus’ writing voice right there, by the way.)

I haven’t had the chance to have this combination since a trip to Malta, which is where all dreaming and wishing and hoping turns to sighing and cursing and pouting. Now I don’t know if it’s just because there is a trailer for Les Mis on TV right now while I write this, but I’m dreaming a dream of fig liqueur in Halifax. In fact, I’m dreaming a dream of better access to a wider array of liqueurs, bitters and spirits at our various liquor stores. Who can make that happen? NSLC? Bishop’s Cellar? Premier Wines & Spirits? Innovative Beverages?

Come on, you guys. Don’t let life in Nova Scotia kill this dream.

Also, that movie looks terrible.

