Sunday Brunch at Morris East

Brunch at Morris East

Today is a great day in the South end of Halifax. Today is the day that Morris East started serving Sunday Brunch. As someone who has lived in the neighbourhood for almost 15 years—long enough to be tempted to start a United Daughters of the Confederation Bridge society to honour those of us who have served time in PEI and then, with a “fiddle-dee-dee!” to the beloved North End, settled down in the deep South—I am pretty excited by this turn of events.

I love Sunday brunch. Sure, I’ll never turn down a Saturday brunch, but there’s something innately luxurious about settling down late on a Sunday morning for a lazy meal.

I’ve also long been a fan of Morris East. Their pizzas are incredible, and the cocktails are always irresistibly creative. Morris East also happens to be incomparable in terms of staff. Maybe I’m biased because it’s a neighbourhood haunt that has an everybody-knows-your-name charm to it, but from the moment I walk in until the moment I leave, it’s always a fun, lovely experience. Additionally: every year I am actually dumbfounded when The Coast “Best of Food” issue doesn’t name Amber at Morris East the best server in town. I mean, you guys? You should probably just go to Morris East and get served by Amber. She’s the best! You’ll see!

So today Kristina and I went for the inaugural Sunday brunch. Though we were tempted with an offer of blueberry mimosas as a way to start our meal as soon as we sat down, we spent a bit of time looking at the menu before deciding that, yes, we wanted those mimosas. Made with Sledding Hill lavender syrup, local blueberry juice and some sparkly Prosecco, it was a great variation on that drink. We each had two.

We decided to explore the non-pizza options, and I couldn’t be happier that we did. I had the Mexican style baked eggs, which were tucked into a cast iron skillet with a mildly spicy tomato sauce and some delicious black beans. It was topped with That Dutchman’s gouda cheese, which was beautifully browned and slightly crisp around the edges. The basic Morris East salad of greens, a potato rosti and buttery sourdough toast completed the plate. It was so good!

Kristina got the vegan breakfast. I’m really excited to see a thoughtful vegan option on the menu, and it’s especially nice to see a delicious savoury breakfast since the other best vegan breakfast in town is the French toast at Jane’s. This breakfast was a tofu scramble in a green curry sauce, with chunks of tender potato, broccoli spears and some fresh cilantro. They offer the crispy sourdough toast with a drizzle of olive oil instead of butter, which is nice. (Kristina got butter. Sometimes a lady just needs a little butter.)

There wasn’t a huge crowd for brunch, but there was a nice little hum of business. When I think about how many suckers are standing in line for 30 or 40 minutes at some of the more popular brunch places in town, I can’t help but thank my lucky stars that one of the best brunches in town continues to go somewhat unrecognized. It is, after all, nice to just swan in and get a table immediately. But at the same time, WHAT THE HELL, YOU GUYS? Are you crazy? Start eating brunch at Morris East so their brunch becomes a success so that I can keep eating there forever!

